Eggquilibrium de Orla De Bri en la Galeria Nacional de Dublín
Eggquilibrium de Orla De Bri en la Galeria Nacional de Dublín

Apologies for the late update – it’s been quite a week! Hopefully this will still be some use to this year’s students. 

A question I would regard as highly likely for your Leaving Cert Oral examination is the one about Easter. This year, with the Oral Exams taking place during the Easter Holidays (don’t get me started on that, or on the suggestion that this is in any way good for students), the question will be a great way for the examiner to test your knowledge of Easter vocabulary as well as your future tenses.

Vocabulario útil:

Semana Santa = Holy Week/Easter week

domingo de Pascua = Easter Sunday

huevos de Pascua = Easter eggs

Conejo/conejito de Pascua = Easter bunny

ir a misa/a la iglesia = to go to mass/to church

el cofrade = religious brotherhood that carries religious images around the city at Easter, particularly famous in Seville.

cenar en familia = to have dinner with the family

Sample questions and answers:

¿Qué tal estás? – Clearly we know this one – How are you? I think that oral examiners are uber-sympathetic to your plight of doing exams in the holidays, so I’d grab even this opportunity to make reference to the exam/holiday issue!

Bueno, la verdad es que estoy muy cansado/a y estresado/a con los exámenes. El español es mi segundo/tercer/cuarto examen en dos/tres/cuatro días y ha sido muy difícil. No creo que sea justo tener los exámenes durante las vacaciones.

¿Qué harás cuando termines este examen? = What will you do when you finish this exam?

En cuanto termine (subjunctive) este examen, habré terminado mis exámenes, gracias a Diós, así que volveré a casa para intentar recuperarme después del estrés de este trimestre. (then go on to answers below and talk about the holidays in general).

As soon as I finish this exam, I’ll have finished my exams thank goodness (thank God) so I’ll go home to try to recover from the stress of this term.

OR if you still have an exam to go…

En cuanto termine este examen, tengo que prepararme para mi examen de gaélico/música/francés etc así que todavía no puedo descansar.

As soon as I finish this exam, I have to prepare myself for my Irish/Music/French exam so I can’t rest yet. 

¿Qué harás después de tus exámenes orales? – What will you do after your oral exams?

En cuanto termine mis exámenes orales y mi examen de música, voy a intentar descansar porque estoy agotado/a. Ha sido un año muy difícil y tener exámenes durante las vacaciones ha sido casi la gota que colmó el vaso. (then either talk about the difficulty of 6th year or the Easter holidays)

¿Qué harás durante las vacaciones de Semana Santa? = What will you do over the Easter holidays?

Bueno, como he dicho, mi prioridad es descansar, pero desde luego, tengo que estudiar mucho. Estoy bajo mucha presión con el poco tiempo que nos queda.

Well, as I’ve said, my priority is to study, but of course I have to study a lot. I’m under a lot of pressure with the short amount of time left to us.

Entonces, estudiaré un montón. Intentaré levantarme pronto todos los días. Desayunaré, estudiaré unas horas y comeré. Tomaré algunos descansos, y estudiaré por la tarde y la noche también. Saldré a dar un paseo o a correr. Es importante descansar de alguna manera durante un día intenso así.

Well, I’ll study a lot. I’ll try to get up early every day. I’ll have breakfast, study for a few hours and then eat. I’ll take a few breaks, and I’ll study in the afternoon and the evening as well. I’ll go for a walk or for a run. It’s important to take some kind of break during an intense day like this.

¿Cómo celebrarás Pascua? = How will you celebrate Easter?

Mi familia y yo iremos a la iglesia/a misa el domingo de Pascua y cuando volvamos (get in a nice subjunctive!) de la iglesia, comeremos una comida magnífica. Vendrá toda la familia/ vendrán mis tíos y mis primos. Comeremos rosbif/ cordero asado/ cochinillo asado etc. Será delicioso. Luego comeremos huevos de Pascua y nos echaremos al sofá para tomar la siesta/ver la tele/ver una película. Me lo pasaré muy bien. Tengo ganas de tomar un día libre y estar con la familia.

My family and I will go to church/mass on Easter Sunday and when we come home, we’ll eat a magnificent meal. The whole family will come/my uncles & aunts and cousins will come. We’ll eat roast beef/roast lamb/roast suckling pig etc. It’ll be delicious. Then we’ll eat Easter eggs and sit on the couch to have a siesta/watch TV/watch a film. I’ll have a good time. It’ll be good to take a day off and be with family. 

Velas de Pascua Velas de Pascua

No celebramos Pascua, así que será un fin de semana normal, aunque claro, mis padres disfrutarán el puente y podremos pasar un poco de tiempo juntos. Me imagino que daremos un paseo si hace buen tiempo, y quizás salgamos a cenar en algún restaurante.

We don’t celebrate Easter, so it’ll be a normal weekend, though of course my parents will have (will enjoy) the long weekend and we’ll be able to spend some time together. I expect/suppose that we’ll go for a walk if the weather is good and maybe we’ll go out for dinner in a restaurant. 

¿Qué sueles hacer el domingo de Pascua? = What do you normally do on Easter Sunday NB PRESENT tense

El domingo de Pascua mi familia y yo solemos ir a la misa y luego celebrar el día con mis abuelos/mis tíos. Dependiendo del año vamos a casa de mis abuelos/tíos o nos quedamos en nuestra casa y ellos vienen a nosotros. Comemos algo especial y luego comemos un mogollón de chocolate en forma de huevos de Pascua. Después de eso, necesitamos echar la siesta y luego vemos la tele. Suele ser un día muy relajado, y me gusta.

On Easter Sunday my family and I normally go to mass and then we celebrate the day with my grandparents/with my uncles and aunts. Depending on the year, we go to my grandparents’ house/my uncle and aunt’s house or we stay at home and they come to us. After that, we need a siesta and then we watch TV. It’s usually a really relaxed day and I like it. 

2 Comments

  1. Apologies to those of you looking for the updated post – I don’t know why it has reverted to the old text. I have a hard copy of the updated questions and suggestions which I will repost on Monday.

Leave a comment