Un día en la vida de Cristobal Colón, por Eve – Curso 2

What seems like way back in September, my students and I worked on the  really interesting competition organised by Léargas last year connecting language and history through a project on A Day in the Life of …. Students had to choose a historical figure and write a diary entry in the language the figure would have spoken. It was an excellent idea for a school project and my students prepared some wonderful entries for the competition. We didn’t win, but it was a great experience.

One of my students, Eve, in Form 2, turned in this entry on a day in the life of Christopher Columbus. Unfortunately, she handed it in late, so we couldn’t submit it, but I decided to publish it here as I was so impressed by the standard of the work done by a student at the start of Form 2.

     El Diario De Cristóbal Colón

Image from: http://www.commondreams.org/sites/default/files/styles/cd_large/public/views-article/beautiful-christopher-columbus-ships-images-1.jpg?itok=smu-ok4Y

26 de septiembre 1492

Cada mañana, me despierto con el sonido del océano y las olas a las seis en punto de la madrugada. Me levanto rápido porque no quiero perder tiempo. Me lavo la boca y la cara. Me pongo mi camisa, mi sombrero, mis pantalónes y mis botas.

En general, hablo con mi tripulación a las siete menos cuarto. Hablamos sobre el tiempo y los mapas. Entonces desayunamos juntos. Después del desayuno vamos a trabajar. Me siento en mi pupitre y ahora a las siete y media estudio mis mapas.

Todavía no podemos ver tierra. Estoy muy delgado y estoy muy agotado y hambriento. Me gustaría qua mi madre me hiciera una comida para mi con paella y crema catalana para el postre. Echo muchísimo de menos  a mi familia.

Cenamos en la mesa a las ocho en punto. Para la cena tomamos muchas galletas secas; yo odio las galletas . Para el postre tomo una cucharada de jalea. Antes de ir a la cama rezo para mi tripulación y mis barcos, Santa Maria, Nina y Pinta.

Adiós,

Colón

Image from: http://www.commondreams.org/sites/default/files/styles/cd_large/public/views-article/beautiful-christopher-columbus-ships-images-1.jpg?itok=smu-ok4Y

 

Leave a Reply

